top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJay Killerman

Storyboard/planning

Updated: Aug 28, 2020

I was keen to understanded and embed a Constructivist approach to learning, incorporating social cultural theory in to the game itself. Therefore created a game that was open in outcome, had few visible rules to constrict the players movement. By having goals that did not require competition or reward, the players maintain their own agency in discovering objects and interacting with the environment. I compared it with the different tools and design that I used. There were many tools and programs that are available to create a museum or gallery, for example: blender, unreal engine, unity and Maya. This program also enables an individual to create and play a game that is built from scratch. However, due to Covid 19 I was limited with only the programs that I can get for free and the assets that come with it. Then I had an idea, what if I compare my own built game to pre existing environments. I could help make games without major programming, comparing these could support making a game for the museum.



Planning


Mindmap

To start making a game I need to think of all the aspects needed to be considered for the game creation. Therefore I made a mindmap to bring the different aspects that needed to be considered in order to bring everything together.



User workflow





Storyboard


Following collecting all the ideas and researching the case studies I came up with the concept of Museum Safari. This will give me the opportunity to create an attractive and interesting background of a jungle and within the jungle I will be able to place museum objects to be discovered.

To make my storyboard I have used storyboard-creator that allows me to quickly sketch up a scene for the game.


1) start

When the game starts the player will spawn in the jungle environment. Within the jungle environment there should be the museum objects that are initially hidden, but are ready to be discovered.


2) exploring

The player should be able to walk around the environment, having free choice over direction and the speed of exploration in-order to find the objects which are hidden in the jungle environment.



3) locating

Once you approach the object the object will give you information about the object and the location where it is found in the real world.



Software

there are 2 software that i know of to build the games



unreal engine 4

Unreal Engine (UE4) is a complete suite of creation tools for game development, architectural and automotive visualization, linear film and television content creation, broadcast and live event production, training and simulation, and other real-time applications. unrealengine.com/en-US/
  • Unreal Engin 4 play-test





Blender

Blender is the free and open source 3D creation suite. It supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline—modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, even video editing and game creation. https://www.blender.org/
  • Blender play testing




Comparing pre-build environments with open world environments

By researching into the representation of art in games, I have explored Occupy the White Walls, which I came across during the research for my dissertation. By exploring this online premade game, solidly built for visitors to come and see exhibitions, I am going to compare it with my Museum game that is built from scratch. However both are Skewermorphic, the white walls gallery through its architecture and the representation of a gallery and Museum Safari, although not a traditional environment, it gives a new open world environment, giving gamers the opportunity to find objects in an unfamiliar environment whilst playing the game.







7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Literature Review and Methods

In the past, traditional museology presented the museum as an institution that's role was to educate the public, often by preserving the cultural artifacts that they deemed worthy within their cultur

bottom of page